Prize Winners of the Social Innovation Challenge

Jan 30, 2021

The ‘Social Innovation Challenge’ (SIC) was jointly organized by the Keio University India Japan Laboratory (IJL) in collaboration with the Indian Institute of Science ‘IISc’ (Center for Society and Policy). The SIC ‘Call for innovative solutions’ (under four key themes) was launched in November 2020, and the information was circulated to more than 900 institutions across India. More than 500 teams had registered for this event, and around 175 proposals and proof of concepts were submitted for consideration.

After a thorough evaluation of the submitted proposals by evaluators from India and Japan, the Top 3 prize winners for each of the four themes of SIC 2020 were announced in the ‘3rd Webinar on India Japan Innovation Potentials on Technology, Culture, and Development’ (on 29 Jan 2021), and Certificate of Excellence were awarded to five other teams in each themes.

The names of all the respective team leaders and their Project Ideas are as mentioned below:



1st Prize: Sai Bhargav Reddy Vootkuru (Biomass Logic’S’ – Paddy yield forecasting model using satellite imagery)

2nd Prize: Jeslin Merin Sajeev (Solar Powered IOT Controlled Pipeline)

3rd Prize: Arpan Kumar Sharma (Solar Water Purifier)


Certificate of Excellence

  1. Jonnala Suhani (Smart Water Management System)
  2. Aparajethaa K (Neel Gendh-Water Ball)
  3. Lindsay Shantha Rubia K (Water supply management system)
  4. Sri Varuni S.B (Detecting, shielding and storing rainwater)
  5. Abhishek Divakar (Innovative solar tubular daylight device coupled with solar water heater for villages)



1st Prize: Aviral Kumar Goel (Smart Stick)

2nd Prize: Niranjan Santhosh (The Solar Powered Mask and Gloves Disposable Unit)

3rd Prize: Smruti Prangya Behera (BioBottle: Elixir of Life)


Certificate of Excellence

  1. Varun Shilesh (Smart Stick for visually impaired)
  2. Venkata Neeraj (Hybrid Closed-Loop Insulin Delivery System)
  3. Sourabh Kulkarni (Attachable Hand-bike for Manual Wheelchair)
  4. Naman Tuli (Epiderma-Skin Cancer Detection Portal)
  5. Ayush Garg (Satya Chatbot)



1st Prize: Krishna Gilda (Aasha- A new hope)

2nd Prize: Anagha Vasista (Nirbhaya -Women’s Safety Device)

3rd Prize: Shalini Das (Virtual Self Defense Training with AI)


Certificate of Excellence

  1. Devansh Gupta (Sanitary Pad Dispensing Machine)
  2. Saloni Parekh (Pragati – Progress begins at home)
  3. Pooja M (Women Safety Assistive application with face based blood pressure analysis)
  4. Induja J Menon (Restructuring Public Participation in Urban Governance)
  5. Ananya Madhusmita (Sports for all)



1st Prize: Ahmer Bashir Shah (Instant conversion of human hair wastes from salons and chicken poultry wastes into NPK, amino acids and micronutrient rich novel organic liquid fertilizer for ready to use in agriculture)

2nd Prize: Manorama Maharana (Project Aasha)

3rd Prize: Azeem Husain Khan (A Portal for Farmers to Sell their Produce at a Better Rate)


Certificate of Excellence

  1. Adrija Chakraborty (Accident Prevention and Condition Monitoring of Industrial Machines)
  2. Rohan Goyal (Smart Farming)
  3. Ananth O N (Sewage cleaner)
  4. Shashank Shekhar Pramod Tiwari (Umang – Multi functional table)
  5. Vishwanath Shastry (Digital Number Plate)